How Many States In USA Allow Late-Term Abortion?

Late-term abortion means the termination of pregnancy after a late stage of gestation. In USA abortion law differ from state to state. Firstly, let us learn the meaning and definition of abortion law before learning about the states in USA which allow late-term abortion.

Abortion Law Definition

Abortion means medical termination of a pregnancy . Abortions are controlled by the Abortion Law in USA. It approves, prohibits or limits an abortion. Abortions are legal in each state of USA having its own limitations.

What is abortion law in the US?

Abortion became legal in all the states of the USA in 1973 after the landmark case of Roe vs. Wade. It imposed a uniform framework on the abortion law setting a minimal period for a legal abortion. These laws were modified in Planned Parenthood v. Casey (1992) restricting undue burden for the woman seeking an abortion of a nonviable fetus. Thereafter many bills were passed in concern with Abortion law.

abortion-Law-usa-2020

How many states allow late term abortions?

Each state of USA has established “trigger Laws” to regulate abortion. The states which allow late term abortions are as follows:

           State

Trigger law on any abortion

Trigger law on late term abortion

 Alabama Yes Yes
 Alaska Yes Yes
Arizona Yes Yes
Arkansas No Yes
  California No No
 Colorado Yes No
Connecticut No No
Delaware No No
Florida

No

Yes
Georgia No No
 Hawaii No No
Idaho No Yes
Illinois No No
Indiana No Yes
Iowa No Yes
 Kansas No Yes
Kentucky No Yes
Louisiana Yes Yes
 Maine No No
 Maryland No No
 Massachusetts No No
 Michigan No Yes
 Minnesota No No
 Mississippi No Yes
 Missouri Yes Yes
 Montana No No
 Nebraska No Yes
  Nevada No No
New Hampshire No No
New Jersey No Yes
New Mexico No No
 New York No No
 North Carolina No No
 North Dakota No Yes
 Ohio Yes Yes
 Oklahoma Yes Yes
 Oregon No No
 Pennsylvania No No
 Rhode Island No Yes
 South Carolina No Yes
 South Dakota No Yes
 Tennessee Yes Yes
 Texas No No
 Utah Yes Yes
 Vermont No No
 Virginia Yes Yes
 Washington No No
 West Virginia No Yes
Wisconsin No Yes
 Wyoming No NO

USA-Abortion-Law-Graph-Stastics-2020

California Abortion Laws

In California, abortion is legal. Abortion laws impose waiting periods, consent, or other regulatory requirements. In California abortion is legal and less restrictive compared to many other states of USA and provides low-cost abortion programs, right to privacy of your abortion.

Limitations on Abortion

In California, abortion is legal with certain limitations

  • The pregnancy is still not viable.
  • You have the right to have an abortion  for any reason up to six months limit after you get pregnant.
  • You can get a late-term abortion even after six months of pregnancy, if the pregnancy endangers your health or life.

California Abortion law and minors

Minor have to provide their written consent to legally obtain an abortion. If the minor is in her  teen, permission from a parent or guardian is not required.

Minors who are under 18 years old do not need to go through these steps if they are are emancipated  A minor can become emancipated in the following three ways:

  • Getting married
  • Joining military or
  • Declaration of emancipation by a judge.

Can you have a late-term abortion in California?

Usually, a full term pregnancy is about 40 weeks. Abortion is prohibited if the fetus becomes viable. It must happen within first trimester of pregnancy. However there is no specific date determining when a pregnancy can be terminated .Generally, a fetus is considered viable in the 24thweek of pregnancy or if it weighs at least 500 grams.

 Who is allowed to perform abortions?

Abortions can be performed by a medical professional having a valid license. You can get it done at

  • Any family planning clinics
  • Doctors
  • Specially-trained nurse, certified nurse midwives and
  • Physician assistants having proper training.

There are no repercussions on the medical practitioners refusing to perform an abortion.

What are the punishments for an unlawful abortion?

An unlawful abortion leads to criminal charges. An abortion performed without complying with the rules of California abortion laws is a misdemeanor and is punishable with

  • 30 days imprisonment, and/or
  • $1,000 fines.

Texas Abortion Law

Abortion is legal in Texas. Although, abortion  is a constitutional right in USA , states like Texas has most restrictive laws in the country  on the abortion procedure.

Limitations on Abortion

  Abortion law in Texas has the following limitations:

  • Ultrasound imaging : The woman seeking abortion must make at least two visits to doctor and obtain an ultrasound and then go for the procedure.
  • parental or guardian consent for minors

Texas Abortion law and Minors

Texas and Louisiana state law mandates the written consent of the parents or legal guardian for unmarried minors to have an abortion except in the following cases:

  • Judicial Bypass: The minor can go before a judge and obtain permission to have an abortion without the parental consent.
  • Emancipation: If a minor is legally emancipated parental consent is not required.
  • Medical Emergency: If there is any danger to the health or life of the minor

Colorado Abortion Law

Abortion laws in Colorado are “pro-choice.” Generally, a full-term pregnancy is about 40 weeks. A women can get an abortion for up to 26 weeks after she becomes pregnant, and up to 34 weeks if there is an medical emergency causing threat to her health or life , fetal anomalies or any genetic disorder. Spousal consent is not required for a married woman to get an abortion.

Limitations on Abortion

In effect as of January 1, 2020 the following restrictions are imposed on abortion in Colorado:

  • Abortion will not be covered in insurance policies for public employees.
  • The minor’s parent must be informed before the abortion.
  • Public funding is available only in cases of rape, incest or endangerment to life.

Colorado Abortion law and Minors

Colorado Abortion law mandates a minor to get the consent of at least one parent, guardian or any adult relative to obtain an abortion except in the following cases:

  • Judicial bypass
  • Emancipation or
  • Medical Emergency

Florida abortion law

Abortion is legal in Florida. A woman can get an abortion up to 24 weeks of pregnancy. However, in the cases of endangerment to health or life it can be provided even after 24 weeks or more.

Limitations on Abortion

The  following restrictions on abortion were in effect as of January 1, 2020:

  • A woman must undergo State-directed counseling designed to discourage abortion.
  • Public funding and Health plans available under the Affordable Care Act in state health exchange will cover an abortion only in cases of rape, incest or endangerment to life.
  • The minor’s parent must be informed before the abortion.
  • A patient seeking an abortion must undergo an ultrasound.

Florida Abortion Law and Minors

In Florida, a minor seeking an abortion must notify a parent. The parent or guardian of the minor must be notified about the abortion by  the provider 48 hours before the procedure. However, parent consent is not required in the following cases:

  • Judicial Bypass
  • Legally Emancipated
  • If the minor is married or has a dependent child

Washington Abortion Law

Washington state abortion laws are very relaxed in comparison to many other states of USA having  very few restrictions. The Washington Reproductive Privacy Act prohibits the state to interfere or deny  a woman’s right to get an abortion. You can have an abortion for any reason before fetal viability i.e.  about 24 weeks into a pregnancy. After 24 weeks, you can obtain an abortion only if it endangers your health or life.

Limitations on Abortion

The following restrictions on abortion were in effect as of January 1, 2020:

  • An abortion after fetal viability may be provided only if there is a threat patient’s health or life.

Washington Abortion Law and Minors

In Washington, you have the absolute legal right to decide to have a child or choose an abortion. You are not required to get permission from your husband, boyfriend, parents, or anyone else before getting an abortion.

There is no specific pregnancy cutoff point after which abortion is banned in Alaska, Colorado, District of Columbia, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Vermont and Washington. All the other states allow abortion only until the pregnancy is considered to be viable. The situations considered by several states before deciding a pregnancy cut-off date to get an abortion are mother’s health, rape or incest. It determines whether a late-term abortion can be provided.

Leave a Reply